Thursday, April 17, 2014
Search By Keyword
Breaking News Alerts
Email Alerts
Email Address
Text Alerts
Mobile Number
 )  - 
Mobile Provider
standard messaging rates apply
By Derek Brown
Staff Writer

The season ended for Mustang in the state quarterfinals to Broken Arrow. But the postseason awards kept coming in.

Mustang had 10 senior players that were given district awards. Frankie Edwards took the overall Offensive Player of the Year Award for Class 6A-4. Edwards had 1476 yards rushing and 20 touchdowns. He added 82 completions for 968 yards and 9 touchdowns through the air. Edwards also had 35 receptions for 316 yards and two scores.

“He [Edwards] just does it all. He is a phenomenal offensive player. We’ll miss him,” Mustang coach Jeremy Dombek said.

Colton Hadlock was named as an All-District wide-receiver. Hadlock had 79 receptions for 837 yards and 9 scores.

Tanner Robertson and Joey Snodgrass were given All-District honors as a defensive back. 

Xavier Whitehead and Armando Vera was an All-District defensive lineman.

Clay Trotter was named as an All-District linebacker.

Tristan Hill, Garrett Hudson and Evan Lockhart were all All-District offensive linemen.

“We like to get as many kids recognized as we can,” Dombek said. “We knew that we had good players on our hands. They [the senior class] showed great leadership thought the year.”

Mustang finished their campaign with a 7-5 record but ended the two-year drought and not only made the postseason but pulled off a victory to a No. 1 seed. Mustang will look to keep the success moving in the right direction as they continue with their offseason preparations.

Visitor Comments

click ad below for details
  • Show All Ads